Senior Bowl Coverage: Wednesday (Marlon Davidson and Blake Ferguson)

So I have gone another day where I was not stripped of my media credentials, so it was a good day. I’m still out there with writers and reporters from The Athletic, ESPN, etc. So when I introduce myself to media, or even other members of the media, I get looks when I tell them that I am with The Bluebloods College Football. But that’s fine, I have nowhere to go but up, really. 

Let’s go ahead and get into the meat of it. Wednesday was my biggest day yet, so let’s get started. 

One last note that I’ll make before I get into it is that I’m going to leave times off from here on out. Trying to keep time in mind when writing these articles is very confusing because, believe it or not, I am not constantly checking my watch while I am at these practices.

I Head Over to Ladd Peebles Stadium for Practice

After I finish class I head over to Ladd Peebles to watch the South Team practice one last time. As practice starts, I notice that practice is looking very similar to the way that it was on Tuesday. I noticed that Damien Lewis (OG LSU), Justin Herbert (QB Oregon), and Javon Kinlaw (DT South Carolina) as standouts at practice once again. Jalen Hurts still seems to be struggling with accuracy, but it did get a little better. 

One major development that I noticed before practice ended was that Marlon Davidson (DE Auburn) was standing on the sideline with a walking boot on his foot. This was huge for me because I had not heard anything about the injury at the time. 

Screen Shot 2020-01-23 at 12.59.29 PM

(Marlon Davidson, 7, and Javon Kinlaw, 3)

Full Contact Practice Begins

Full practice finally begins, and so I get excited because this is new. I think that maybe I’ll be able to see some things that stood out a little differently than what I saw during group practices.

Screen Shot 2020-01-23 at 1.09.29 PM

(Lamical Perine, blocking drill)

I was wrong. Everything that I noticed during the previous practice held true here. I was impressed with passes from each quarterback, coverage by the DBs, and especially by the protection from the o-line. The quarterbacks nearly had all day in the backfield.

I See Nick Saban and Bill Belichick on the Sideline

Right in the middle of practice, I notice a guy on the sideline that looked and dressed

very similarly to Nick Saban. I then remembered that the Senior Bowl is in Alabama, and Alabama fans will do anything to become a little bit more like Coach Saban. And then I heard someone on the phone behind me say that he was watching practice and “watching Nick Saban and Bill Belichick talking on the sidelines.” 

Screen Shot 2020-01-23 at 12.59.55 PM

(Nick Saban, left, and Bill Belichick, right)

At this point I was like “Oh! That was Nick Saban. Pretty cool… Wait, Bill Belichick?!” And sure enough, it was. And let me tell you, I would have paid unspeakable amounts of money to be able to sit in on that conversation.

Practice Ends and Security Abuses their Power

Practice Finally ends, and after security guards already let about 20-30 media members on the field from one gate, they lock all of the gates and don’t allow anyone on the field for nearly 10 more minutes. This was ridiculous because we were all approved to be on the field after practice concluded. Well, practice concluded, players were leaving, other reporters were conducting interviews, and we were locked out of the field. Tempers were flaring, but I kept my cool and remained patient.

Interviews with Marlon Davidson and Blake Ferguson

After media was finally allowed on the field, I was able to score TWO interviews on Wednesday. That’s right, two. Even after being let on the field late, I was able to interview Marlon Davidson (DE Auburn) and Blake Ferguson (LS LSU). Not only did I interview these two, but I was actually able to record my interviews and they will premiere on Friday January 24 on The Bluebloods Podcast. Links to all podcast platforms appear to the right. 

Screen Shot 2020-01-23 at 1.03.25 PM

(Justin Herbert, QB Oregon)

So that was my day covering the Senior Bowl on Wednesday. I won’t be posting the transcripts of the interviews just yet, but they will be available on the podcast on January 24.

Stay tuned for my next post that will cover Thursday’s North Team Practice. It will be up later tonight (January 23) or tomorrow (January 24). 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started